Jazz & Wine – International Jazz Festival Leibnitz

Otmar001R13x18After its ‘resurrection’ in 2013, the Jazz Festival Leibnitz will already be staged for the fourth time this year. With four star acts it also takes a big step towards being internationally perceived. Schloss Seggau’s big wine cellar, the Kulturzentrum Leibnitz, and the highly successful open air stage at the Vineyard Hotel Harkamp, once again, feature as venues for this year’s four-day concert marathon. For the first time the so-called Jazz Bus will shuttle guests from Graz to Leibnitz and back.

So, who will be the star acts of this year’s jazz festival in the charming wine town of Leibnitz? While last year charismatic US singer Carmen Lundy was the all-surpassing act, this year the top artists will come thick and fast as the festival features four highly renowned acts: The Bad Plus, Tia Fuller, Vanessa Rubin, and Chico Freeman.

A unique trio with the extra plus – not only because after having maintained the same line-up for 16 years The Bad Plus have long been considered a cult band, but also because the International Jazz Festival Leibnitz will see and hear an exclusive presentation of the band’s new CD (Köchl catalogue 14, so to speak) which came out in September. The Bad Plus’s pieces have once been referred to as “suspicious innovative music”, a quote which also serves as the title of an essay on the band. The three guys from Minnesota definitely represent a generation of musicians who, quite as a matter of course, grew up with classical music, jazz, pop, and rock. All these genres are sacred to the trio, however, none is sacred enough that they would not reshape it by all the limitless means available to phantasy. A unique and pioneering statement which is heralded at breezy rock festival and in stuffy jazz clubs alike. Now, Mr. Iverson is also a great virtuoso on the piano; even more so as he is likewise a great virtuoso of self-effacement.

The venue of the festival opening will, once again, be the big wine cellar at Schloss Seggau – one of the largest in Europe. There, master musician Chico Freeman (tenor saxophone) and virtuoso Swiss bassist Heiri Känzig will evoke a sonorous pace akin to intimate chamber music.

Quite the opposite will hold true for energetic saxophonist Tia Fuller. On Saturday she and her determined trio will surely shake up the placid Hugo Wolf-Saal with their firm belief in groove and funk.

Rumour has it that Otmar Klammer, the festival’s artistic director, has tried to book great jazz singer Vanessa Rubin ever since he took office four years ago. Now the graceful, swinging nightingale from Cleveland, who has already toured with Woody Herman and Herbie Hancock, is finally taking the stage during the festival-ending matinee at Vineyard Hotel Harkamp in St. Nikolai im Sausal. The meteorologists promise that it will be a sunny day, possibly even flavoured with a hint of rhythm & blues.

The chamber-music-like tempered trio of virtuoso Israeli flutist Hadar Noiberg, who will be performing in Austria for the first time, is also part of the festival line-up.

“Alex Machacek’s music starts where other music ends”. No other than John McLaughlin used these words to describe the guitarist of our obligatory annual Austrian festival contribution with the convenient name FAT (Fabulous Austrian Trio). And the guru ought to know.

The programme’s most fervent act will be the carefully handpicked Gygsy Fire sextet. Besides virtuoso Sinti guitarist Lulo Reinhardt (nephew) and Hungarian tenor saxophone monster Tony Lakatos, singer and Graz University of Music and Performing Arts graduate Melanie Nini Bong will also fire up the audience.

Otmar Klammer,  Artistic Director

Venues of the International Jazz Festival Leibnitz

Wine Cellar Schloss Seggau

Kulturzentrum Leibnitz

Vineyard Hotel Harkamp

Team

Chair person LeibnitzKULT: Helga Cernko
Production & PR: Isabella Holzmann  +43.664.1586084, presse@jazzfestivalleibnitz.at
Artistic director: Otmar Klammer oklammer@chello.at
Office & ticketing: Dagmar Brauchart  +43.3452.76506, office@leibnitz-kult.at

Technical department:
Begu Milaim, milaimbegu@yahoo.de
Wolfgang Rath, wolf.rath@aon.at
Paul Glassnegg

Artwork: Yusuf Mala
Web: Andres Naureiter, andreas@jenud.com | Werner Posekany  wposekany@gmail.com
Photography: Purgar Peter www.jazzimbild.at

Impressum

Event organiser:  LeibnitzKULT– Verein zur kulturellen Nahversorgung
Chair person: Helga Cernko
Register of association: UID-Nr.: ATU 6783747
Kaspar-Harb-Gasse 4, 8430 Leibnitz
Ph. +43 3452 76506 | office@leibnitz-kult.at

Responsible for content: Isabella Holzmann, Otmar Klammer

Artistic director: Otmar Klammer
Organisation, PR: Isabella Holzmann
Photography: Jazz im Bild / Peter Purgar
WebDesign: create.jenud.com Andreas Neureiter, Werner Posekany

Data privacy statement Google Analytics
This website uses Google Analytics, a web analytics service provided by Google, Inc. (“Google”). Google Analytics uses cookies to help the website operators (us) analyse how users use our site. The anonymous information generated by the cookie about your use of the website (including your IP address) will be transmitted to and stored by Google on servers in the United States. Google will use this anonymous information for the purpose of evaluating your use of the website, compiling reports on website activity, including the number of visitors to the website, where they have come to the website from, the pages they visit and the length of time they have spent on the website, for ourselves and other website operators and providing other services relating to website activity and internet usage. We use these reports to improve the way our website works. Google may also transfer the information collected by the Google Analytics cookie to third parties where required to do so by law, or where such third parties process the information on Google’s behalf. Google will not associate your IP address with any other data held by Google.
>>Google Analytics terms of service

The International Jazz Festival Leibnitz Jazz & Wine would like to thank

The International Jazz Festival Leibnitz Jazz & Wine is an event of the LeibnitzKULT association.

Logo Leibnitz KULT

Förderer

Logo Land Steiermark
Logo Leibnitz
Logo Leibnitz

Mobility partners:

Autohaus Sternad, Taxi-Ronny

Logo Marko Druck

Media partners:

Logo Klein Zeitung
Logo Oe1
Logo WDR

in collaboration with:

Logo Sausal
Logo Prangl
Logo Marko Druck
Logo öoeticket
Logo Hunger auf Kunst & Kultur
Logo Marko Druck
Logo Plan Consort
Logo Graz Jazz
Fiedler & Sohn
Logo AK
Logo Harkamp
Mana Apfelwein

With kind support of:
Maria and Dr. Hanno Sperger, Buchhandlung Hofbauer

Pin It on Pinterest

Abo Newsletter2016

Versäumen Sie keines unserer Konzerte und erfahren Sie das aktuelle Programm aus erster Hand!

Glückwunsch! Sie haben unseren Newsletter abonniert!

Jazz & Wein – Internationales Jazzfestival Leibnitz

Otmar001R13x18Nach seiner Auferstehung im Jahr 2013 geht das Jazzfestival Leibnitz heuer auch schon wieder in seine vierte Runde und setzt mit gleich vier Stargästen einen großen Schritt in Richtung internationaler Wahrnehmung. Schauplätze des viertägigen Konzertmarathons sind wieder der riesige Weinkeller auf Schloss Seggau, das Kulturzentrum Leibnitz und die im Vorjahr so erfolgreich erprobte Open Air-Bühne beim Weingartenhotel Harkamp. Und erstmals wird auch ein Jazzbus zwischen Graz und Leibnitz pendeln.

Wer sind nun die Stargäste des heurigen Jazzauflaufs in der lieblichen Weinstadt? Im Vorjahr überstrahlte ja die charismatische US-Sängerin Carmen Lundy alles beim Jazzfestival Leibnitz. Heuer kommt es jedenfalls knüppeldick, immerhin sind mit The Bad Plus, Tia Fuller, Vanessa Rubin und Chico Freeman gleich vier prominente Namen angesagt.

Allen voran aber vielleicht doch das einzigartige Trio mit dem dicken Plus am Ende. Nicht allein weil The Bad Plus nach 16-jähriger Bandgeschichte ohne Besetzungsänderung längst als Kultband gehandelt wird, sondern weil die drei Herren mit den ernsten Gesichtern exklusiv nach Leibnitz kommen, um ihre neue CD (Köchelverzeichnis 14) – zu präsentieren. Welche zwar erst im September erscheinen wird, unseren Ohren aber bereits längst anvertraut wurde. Als „Verdächtige Zukunftsmusik“, hat das einmal wer bezeichnet und sogar zu einem Buchtitel erhoben. Der Pianist Ethan Iverson, Bassist Reid Anderson und der Schlagzeugbeauftragte David King verkörpern jedenfalls eine Musikergeneration, die ganz selbstverständlich mit Klassik, Jazz, Pop und Rock groß geworden ist. Alles von dem ist den drei Jungs aus Minnesota zwar heilig, aber nichts davon ist ihnen heilig genug, um es nach allen Regeln der Fantasie – und die sind bekanntlich grenzenlos – umzubauen. Ein singuläres und zukunftsweisendes Statement, das auf luftigen Rock-Festivals genauso zu finden ist wie in stickigen Jazzclubs. Je nun, Mr. Iverson ist auch ein großer Virtuose am Klavier, umso größer, ist er doch gleichsam auch ein großer Virtuose der Zurückhaltung.

Eröffnet wird das Festival mit dem dekantierten Untertitel Jazz & Wine auch heuer wieder im riesigen Weinkeller von Schloss Seggau – einer der größten Europas -, wo US-Altmeister Chico Freeman (Tenorsaxophon) im Duo mit dem Schweizer Edel-Bassisten Heiri Känzig eher die kammermusikalisch intime und sonore Gangart beschwören wird.

Was man von der energiegeladenen Saxophonisten Tia Fuller nicht gerade behaupten wird können. Sie wird am Samstagabend mit ihrem zu allem entschlossenen Trio und dem Glauben an Groove und Funk den bedächtigen Hugo Wolf-Saal sicher ordentlich durchschütteln.

Nach der großartigen Jazzsängerin Vanessa Rubin ist Festivalleiter Otmar Klammer dem Vernehmen nach schon seit seiner Amtszeit von vier Jahren her. Nun kommt die anmutige, swingende Nachtigall aus Cleveland, die auch schon mit Woody Herman und Herbie Hancock auf Tournee war, endlich und exklusiv zur abschließenden Matinee beim Weingartenhotel Harkamp in St. Nikolai im Sausal. Das wird ein sonniger Tag, hat uns der Chefmeteorologe versprochen. Vielleicht sogar mit einer Idee von Rhythm & Blues?

Weiters mit dabei ist das kammermusikalisch temperierte Trio der virtuosen israelischen Flötistin Hadar Noiberg, das erstmals nach Österreich kommt.

Kein Geringerer als John McLaughlin ließ sich über den Gitarristen unseres obligaten jährlichen Österreich-Beitrags mit dem praktischen Namen FAT (Fabulous Austrian Trio) schon zu dem Befund hinreißen: „Alex Machacek´s music starts where other music ends“. Der Guru muss es wissen.

Sorgsam handverlesen ist der feurigste Programmpunkt mit dem Sextett Gygsy Fire, in dem neben dem einschlägigen virtuosen Sinti-Gitarristen Lulo Reinhardt (Neffe) und dem ungarischen Tenorsaxophon-Ungeheuer Tony Lakatos auch die einst in Graz studierte Sängerin Melanie Nini Bong zugange sein wird.

Otmar Klammer,  Künstlerischer Leiter

Spielstätten des Internationalen Jazzfestival Leibnitz

Weinglas mit Kerze

Weingartenhotel Harkamp

Flamberg 46, 8505 St. Nikolai im Sausal
Route mit Googlemaps plannen

Weinglas mit Kerze

Kulturzentrum Leibnitz

Kaspar Harb-Gasse 4, 8430 Leibnitz 
Route mit Googlemaps plannen

Weinkeller Schloss Seggau

Kulturzentrum Leibnitz

Weingartenhotel Harkamp

Team

Obfrau LeibnitzKULT: Helga Cernko
Produktion & Presse: Isabella Holzmann  +43.664.1586084, presse@jazzfestivalleibnitz.at
Künstlerische Leitung: Otmar Klammer oklammer@chello.at
Büro & Ticketing: Dagmar Brauchart  +43.3452.76506, office@leibnitz-kult.at

Technik:
Begu Milaim, milaimbegu@yahoo.de
Wolfgang Rath, wolf.rath@aon.at
Paul Glassnegg

Artwork: Yusuf Mala
Web: Andres Naureiter, andreas@jenud.com | Werner Posekany  wposekany@gmail.com
Fotograf: Purgar Peter www.jazzimbild.at

Impressum

Veranstalter:  LeibnitzKULT-  Verein zur kulturellen Nahversorgung
Obfrau: Helga Cernko
Vereinsregister: UID-Nr.: ATU 6783747
Kaspar-Harb-Gasse 4, 8430 Leibnitz
Tel. +43 3452 76506 | office@leibnitz-kult.at

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Isabella Holzmann, Otmar Klammer

Künstlerischer Leiter: Otmar Klammer
Organisation, Kommunikation: Isabella Holzmann
Festival - Fotos: Jazz im Bild / Peter Purgar
WebDesign: create.jenud.com Andreas Neureiter, Werner Posekany

Datenschutz-Hinweis zu Google Analytics
Diese Website benutzt Google Analytics, einen Webanalysedienst der Google Inc. („Google"). Google Analytics verwendet sog. „Cookies", Textdateien, die auf Ihrem Computer gespeichert werden und die eine Analyse der Benutzung der Website durch Sie ermöglicht. Die durch den Cookie erzeugten Informationen über Ihre Benutzung dieser Website (einschließlich Ihrer IP-Adresse) wird an einen Server von Google in den USA übertragen und dort gespeichert. Google wird diese Informationen benutzen, um Ihre Nutzung der Website auszuwerten, um Reports über die Websiteaktivitäten für die Websitebetreiber zusammenzustellen und um weitere mit der Websitenutzung und der Internetnutzung verbundene Dienstleistungen zu erbringen. Auch wird Google diese Informationen gegebenenfalls an Dritte übertragen, sofern dies gesetzlich vorgeschrieben oder soweit Dritte diese Daten im Auftrag von Google verarbeiten. Google wird in keinem Fall Ihre IP-Adresse mit anderen Daten, die von Google gespeichert werden, in Verbindung bringen. Sie können die Installation der Cookies durch eine entsprechende Einstellung Ihrer Browser Software verhindern; wir weisen Sie jedoch darauf hin, dass Sie in diesem Fall gegebenenfalls nicht sämtliche Funktionen dieser Website voll umfänglich nutzen können. Durch die Nutzung dieser Website erklären Sie sich mit der Bearbeitung der über Sie erhobenen Daten durch Google in der zuvor beschriebenen Art und Weise und zu dem zuvor benannten Zweck einverstanden.
>>Nutzungsbedingungen von Google Analytics

Das Internationale Jazzfestival Leibnitz Jazz & Wein dankt

Das Internationale Jazzfestival Leibnitz Jazz & Wein ist eine Veranstaltung des Vereins LeibnitzKULT.

Logo Leibnitz KULT

Förderer

Logo Land Steiermark
Logo Leibnitz
Logo Leibnitz

Mobilitätspartner:

Autohaus Sternad, Taxi-Ronny

Logo Marko Druck

Medienpartner:

Logo Klein Zeitung
Logo Oe1
Logo WDR

in Zusammenarbeit mit:

Logo Sausal
Logo Prangl
Logo Marko Druck
Logo öoeticket
Logo Hunger auf Kunst & Kultur
Logo Marko Druck
Logo Plan Consort
Logo Graz Jazz
Fiedler & Sohn
Logo AK
Logo Harkamp
Mana Apfelwein

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:
Maria und Dr. Hanno Sperger, Buchhandlung Hofbauer

Pin It on Pinterest

Abo Newsletter2016

Versäumen Sie keines unserer Konzerte und erfahren Sie das aktuelle Programm aus erster Hand!

Glückwunsch! Sie haben unseren Newsletter abonniert!